~anjan/sxmo-docs-stable

f0a6a6251b49cbb07c8fb74965ca458fb7311610 — Maarten van Gompel 2 years ago 1bebfb9
updated documentation on migration
1 files changed, 9 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

M USERGUIDE.md
M USERGUIDE.md => USERGUIDE.md +9 -4
@@ 851,9 851,12 @@ by running a script named `sxmo_migrate.sh`. This script can simply be launched 
It first shows the differences between your configuration and the new default, and allows you to edit and apply your
configuration accordingly.

If you have any pending migrations, always make sure to complete the migration process before making any new changes to your
configuration. It is also recommended to keep your configuration under version control (e.g. git).

*Techical details*:

Sxmo (since 1.8.1) uses versioned configuration files, meaning that they each carry a simple version number unique to
Sxmo (since 1.8.1) uses explicitly versioned configuration files, meaning that they each carry a simple version number unique to
the file, this version number is expressed in a comment in the file itself, such as:

```


@@ 863,9 866,11 @@ the file, this version number is expressed in a comment in the file itself, such
You should **only** update this version number when ``sxmo_migrate.sh`` prompts you to do so by showing a diff with a newer
configversion number.

If you want to see what files are disabled and need migration, run ``sxmo_migrate.sh state``. If you want to revert
**all** your configuration files to the default, then you can run ``sxmo_migrate.sh reset``. This is usually a last
resort if you end up with a broken system and can be considered a kind of factory reset.
If you want to see what files are disabled and need migration, run ``sxmo_migrate.sh state``, or run ``sxmo_migrate.sh
sync state`` if you just performed an upgrade and haven't restarted yet. If you want to revert **all** your
configuration files to the default, then you can run ``sxmo_migrate.sh reset``. This is usually a last resort if you end
up with a broken system and can be considered a kind of factory reset, all your configuration files will moved out of
the way and flagged for migration then.

The process that checks the versions of your configuration files is ``sxmo_migrate.sh sync``, it runs automatically when
Sxmo starts.